Skip to main content

Why I Think Chinese Language Schools Should Prioritize Pinyin Over Zhuyin for Asian Century Learning

There's no denying that we're in the Asian century. We have the rise of Mandarin as one of the major languages of the world. In fact, it's the second most spoken language. However, I feel Chinese schools in the Philippines weren't exactly prepared to teach Chinese--only how to memorize without understanding. That's exactly why I didn't like the Chinese language subject. If there was one thing I hated about the Chinese language subject--it was the use of zhuyin. The use of Romanizing wasn't allowed. I could agree to learn to read the characters. However, Zhuyin may not be the best course of action in regard to the international community. I even feel that Zhuyin (a subject I hated) may be as obsolete as the Filipino ancient alphabet. 

It wasn't until college that I got into pinyin. People had been checking out Taiwanese entertainment. I remembered Googling and found Romanized lyrics. Those who were college students in the 2000s (under the K+10) may remember F4 and 5566. I remembered how the pinyin was spelled out. For example, Meteor Garden was referred to as Liu Xing Hua Yuan, and My MVP Valentine as MVP Qing Ren.  I could remember really reading the Pinyin wrong. For example, zh was read as zh instead of a softer ch. A good example is how somebody with the surname Chu (朱) on their ID has their pinyin spelled as Zhu. It's really something when people start to misread the pinyin because they have no idea how to read the pinyin. It's easy to read Xiaomi but certain words just get confusing.

What I did was to get some Romanization, play a Chinese song, and sang the song "Can't Lose You" by F4. That's when I started to realize how I've been reading pinyin wrong or why there's a b but it's read as a soft p. Meanwhile, p is read as a harder p. It reminds me of how Tagalog has j head as a softer h while h is read as a harder h. It's like the word halimbawa has the h read harder while Juan's j is read as a softer h. This may seem tricky at first but I think this would be better than learning zhuyin. In English, k is read harder than c. 

I started learning to type in Chinese. No, I didn't bother to memorize zhuyin but pinyin. The earlier versions had you type the pinyin and guess the tones. The tones are very similar to what we have in Filipino. Tagalog has the malumay, malumi, mabilis, and maragsa. Chinese identifies these similarly as the four tones. Later, all I had to do was to type the pinyin and look for the character. That's when I felt (more than once) that Zhuyin, like the baybayin, is best served as an artifact than a learning tool. Though the four tones just can't disappear.

A good example is that we have "I love you" translated into Chinese. Without the tones, Wo Ai Ni might mean anything. However, we learn to write "I love you" in pinyin as "wǒ ài nǐ" complete with the tones. First, we learn the basic alphabet with bopomofo as bpmf then we learn the consonants and vowels. W is often referred to as u in the pinyin table. For some reason, u is spelled with a was a more correct way of doing things. We see how these words are connected together to form the romanize. Then, we need to learn the tones to learn how to pronounce them. 


We have learned the pinyin now it's time to learn the four different tones. It's like how the word mama in Tagalog can mean either "mother" or "elderly man". We have the pinyin ma in the first tone means mother, the second tone means numb, the third tone means horse, and the fourth means scold. If we just wrote the pinyin as ma then we can get easily lost. Still, I find the approach of learning the pinyin and then the four tones (while there's a fifth neutral tone) to be the more appropriate one.

With the rise of the Chinese language (and we have Chinese and Taiwanese companies becoming multinational companies)--it might be good to emphasize more on learning to speak than meaningless memorization. Memorization of the pinyin would grant easier access. Non-Chinese speakers learning the Chinese language would be burdened if they had to learn the zhuyin than the more accessible pinyin. Instead, it'd be easy if they first learned the arrangement based on the Latin alphabet and then learn the four tonal symbols. That way, we can encourage more Chinese learning. 

Chinese learning shouldn't just be for the Chinese. I believe that Chinese learning should be made more accessible. Also, some ethnic Chinese may still not even learn their ethnic language. It's like how some Filipinos born abroad can't even speak Tagalog. Why not find new ways to teach different languages than the one-size-fits-all with too much memorization? 

For practical reasons, the Inspire Mandarin blog (written by a Taiwanese) shows why you might as well focus more on pinyin than Zhuyin:
  1. It is more internationally used by the fact that it uses Latin script. It is relatively easier to type even if you don’t have the input set up in your computer. The keyboard is the same as QWERTY, so there are almost no obstacles to start typing Chinese. 
  2. Its use of Latin script makes it more beginner-friendly after all! Even for someone who has never learned Pinyin, he can still try to guess it by reading it with the pronunciation method he is used to though it won’t sound accurate, but it reduces possible struggles in many life situations. For example, for tourists, when they see the Pinyin marked under a road sign, though they’re not sure, chances are they can still get by to successfully communicate with people about where they want to go. 
  3. Learners usually find more resources with Pinyin too. That’s the reality. Since the users of Pinyin are much more than Zhuyin’s, and plus other advantages, there are more materials using Pinyin than Zhuyin.

Popular posts from this blog

#SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics' Understanding of How Gasoline Prices Work

International State College of the Philippines Today is Flor Contempacion Day , and rallies are expected. However, whether it's Flor's death anniversary or not, rallies are expected for the wrongest of reasons. I would like to address this photo from the International State College of the Philippines' Facebook page. The demands here are rather clunky and stupid. We have the following demands that would naturally clash with each other, such as: No to the oil deregulation law while demanding lower oil prices. This is simply ignoring the basic fundamentals of economics, namely the law of supply and demand . They say that oil companies are greedy for gain. These rallyists probably don't really understand the difference between revenues and profits . Let's understand the Oil Deregulation Law  The Oil Deregulation Law, or the Republic Act No. 8479 , passed on February 10, 1998, under the late Fidel Valdez Ramos. Here's how the liberalization works: CHAPTER II  LIBERAL...

"Will #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics Lower Philippine Gas Prices?

Inquirer Gasoline prices have increased again, haven't they?  A few days ago, I wrote  why #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba's view of gas prices is questionable . Today, I feel like writing this after several complaints on Facebook. I would like to create a follow-up post. People are complaining too much without understanding the real reason why some countries have lower prices of gasoline. Real talk. We need to talk about economic policies,  and  of course, please do a study on supply-demand analysis  on supply chain management . Let's examine the complaints made by Bulatlat Bulatlat Here's a chart from Bulatlat that compares the increase in prices of gasoline between the Philippines, Thailand, and Malaysia. It's always problematic when people ignore simple economics. It's funny, but Bulatlat mentions this on their website: Note also how expensive our diesel and gasoline products are compared to those of our ASEAN neighbors. The estimated common price today of diesel in...

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

The Tragic Windfall of the Late Flor Contemplacion's Family

PEH.ph Last year, I wrote an article talking about Flor Contemplacion crybabies spreading fake news for 30 years . I noticed that the movie could be watched for free on YouTube (which is one hour and 52 minutes long), and the one that you had to pay for via rent or personal soft copy ( which is two hours and two minutes long). I was looking into the film and realized the "for free" version lacks the exaggerated water dunking and electrocution torture scene, which I believe is available, which is a ten-minute difference. I remember seeing the old version where Flor was tortured by Singaporean police via water dunking and electrocution, to get an answer out of her. The famous line by the late Nora Aunor was, "I did not kill anybody!" It's 31 years, and I don't expect the fake news about Flor to stop just because  it's past 30. No, fake news is that hard to kill even in the digital age. It reminds me of the fate of Flor's sons , where one of them, Sandr...

Has Passing Down Hatred for Singapore (Because of Flor Contemplacion) Economically Helped the Philippines?

PEH.ph It was on March 17, 1995, when Flor Contemplacion was executed in Singapore. I've noticed that I've been addressing her as the late many times, even if the late is a statement that may be ony appropriate if the person has been recently deceased within 10 years. It's about to become 30 years since Flor was hanged in Singapore. However, generational hatred would've been passed down from 1995 up to 2025. Some people are still tagging #JusticeFor Flor. These traits may be passed down from the Batang 1990s to their children in this generation. It may also be passed down from parent to child, even if the child was born in the 2000s to 2010s. Somebody born in 2000s and beyond might even say, "Papa and mama told me about Flor Contemplacion! That's why I hate Singapore!" Talk about a child born in 2004 who's probably angry with Singapore, because his parents kept telling him about how Flor was supposedly "unjustly treated" over there.  Some tim...