Skip to main content

Why I Feel "Play-to-Earn" Games are Too Good to be True


I've been running into ads that promise the "play to earn" games even before the pandemic. Some of them featured a game that all I needed was to merge this and that or pop bubbles and boom--I get money! I remembered finding ways to make money online and they encouraged gambling. There's always the rule of thumb in finances--if it's too good to be true then run from it. It reminds me of how I get irritated by those fake game ads and now these new fake game ads? It's already bad enough I was duped into downloading Gardenscape with the fake ads. Now, these fake ads are probably the worst offenders over mobile demos that irritate us with annoying display of stupidity. 

Any gamer who probably owned a Playstation 3 or an XBox 360 (or any seventh generation console) would remember having to buy credits to buy extra content. A buyer may have had to buy Playstation Points (or the like) to purchase additional content. Later, there's the pay to play online which a person buys a whole year pass to play online. I think it's costly but they're running a business. For example, I think the amount of maintenance their servers have are now much higher because of the prevalence of e-Sports and tournaments. Online communities are getting bigger. It becomes harder to maintain so they need more money to maintain the servers. It's because an ongoing server is an operations expense. The gaming community should pay more money if they expect better servers. No server is ever maintained for free. Just think of why do you have to pay higher to get better Internet connection? Why do you think high quality Internet is costly? It's not just supply and demand.. It's also the cost of operations that also affect the price of the service.

I heard of the so-called "life-changing" with Axie Infinity. Just reading this made me think of why it's too good to be true:

But some gaming industry analysts say its business model is unsustainable, pointing to the need for new players to keep money coming in.
Jonathan Teplitsky of blockchain firm Horizen Labs warned most play-to-earn games were a "house of cards", fuelled by "hype and price speculation".

"This entire system works well while the Axie company is flush with cash and willing to fuel a massive marketing machine," he said.

"If Axie wants to survive the next market crash, they will need to build some real-world utility into their game that does not depend on the mood of the markets."

Sky Mavis co-founder and chief executive Trung Nguyen told AFP Axie Infinity, which is partly owned by players, was "not a zero sum game".

"There are a lot of things other than monetary value that people can get from the game."

A gaming company doesn't get rich by giving away cash to its players. In fact, even the players know that they must buy at least three Axies. In a Ponzi scheme--you need to give in some money before you get into it, right? A pyramid scheme happens that some people will initially get their money back. In a scam, I got conned by the person who initially paid me back but no longer paid me back after the second transaction. I believe that the "play-to-earn" gimmick also works in the same way. Some people will initially get paid back but it wouldn't be sustainable. Does Axie Infinity (or any gaming company offering such a gimmick for that matter) always have a fresh supply of money to give back to the players? If it has stocks--I definitely wouldn't buy it in contrast to buying stocks from established software companies.

Gaming tournaments that give away prize money don't happen all the time. Why do you think that e-athletes must compete before the money is given? It's because the companies running them have to carefully assess if they're willing to give away such money to the winners? Notice that only the winners get the prize money while the losers don't get any money? That's why I believe that e-athletes have other sources of income when they're not competing. For all we know, their main source of business must be an Internet cafe, a restaurant, or any legitimate source of income to finance their activities. Maybe, some of them even run a gym since it's said exercise makes better gamers.

Besides, the stock market doesn't even guarantee you get rich quick fast. Stock markets are subject to supply and demand. The demand for a particular stock is dependent on the public perception's of the company, economic conditions (such as when companies started to produce less due to lower demand), and politics are in play. I think some stocks got bought during the pandemic when the demand for certain items significantly lowered. Not much gasoline was produced due to a lower supply. Gasoline is now starting to be produced all the more when the demand goes up. Stock markets dealers may even have to sell high now because waiting for it to be higher may close a deal. I tried to do so using a stock simulator to get the hang of it. 

I think the whole cycle will just end up like a Ponzi scheme. People who will get the promise will soon want more. It will be a very hard cycle to break like a gambling addiction. I would say that those running the "play-to-earn games" are just trying to get rich quick at the expense of others. Why I don't even want to start is because is because it's too good to be true, right? 

References

"'Life-changing' or scam? Axie Infinity helps Philippines' poor earn"

Popular posts from this blog

It's More Fun In The Philippines Thanks to the Filipino First Policy

I guess it can be called a day, right? This April 1, 2023 , I'm finally calling it quits with fighting for economic liberalization! Yes, that's right! All the advocacy for economic liberalization is just garbage. Why did I even spend so much time writing this blog only to find out that I've been duped? I hereby renounce everything I wrote here. I finally saw how brilliant the Filipino First Policy is. Man, what have I done? How much damage have I caused in advocating for economic liberalization?  The greatest president we ever had was... High School Philippine History Movement It's time to listen to the economic genius known as the late Carlos P. Garcia. Yes, he has to be one of the greatest presidents that ever existed.  I took this note from the Bohol Provincial Library and found this about CPG's Filipino First Policy ; CPG adopted the “Filipino First” Policy to promote greater Filipino participation in business, and to put the Filipinos in control of the economy...

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

The Myth of "Invading" Other Countries Through Foreign Investors and Overseas Filipino Workers

BoardGameGeek Years ago, I could remember how "Filipino pride" seems to be required by the DECS. Some songs in the Filipino subject (or called Tagalog) tend to glorify it. One of the songs was called "Ako'y Isang Pinoy" (or "I'm Pinoy") feels ironic since it was played on an imported music player. We had discussions for years about how Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are often the unsung heroes or the new heroes. The mentality kept going on with how people desired to take a particular course not because they wanted to--it's because they wanted to go abroad. Why I wanted to take Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) was not just to impress people but also to go abroad . However, more people shifted away from BSIT either because they were eliminated (common cause) or because it was too hard for them. Some of them flat out admitted that they took BSIT in hopes of going abroad. Some were taking nursing in hopes of again-- going abro...

Learning from the Late Lee Kuan Yew's Proving Protectionist-Driven Economists Wrong About Multinational Corporations

Reading the book From Third World to First is really a must. The late Lee Kuan Yew was faced with the mentality of the development economists of his day. Here's an excerpt from "Chapter 4--Surviving Without a Hinterland" which I'd like to share from Pages 57-58: After several years of disheartening trial and error, we concluded that Singapore's best hope lay with the American multinational corporations (MNCs). When the Taiwanese and Hong Kong entrepreneurs came in the 1960s, they brought low technology such as textile and toy manufacturing, labor-intensive but not large-scale. American MNCs brought higher technology in large-scale operations, creating many jobs. They had weight and confidence. They believed that their government was going to stay in Southeast Asia and their businesses were safe from confiscation or war loss. I gradually crystallized my thoughts and settled on a two-pronged strategy to overcome our disadvantages. The first was to leapfrog the reg...

Yes, the Philippines Can Self-Industrialize Because Filipinos Are the Most Powerful Race in the World (NO JOKE)

Yes, you got that right! This meme is a fact that Filipinos are the most powerful race in the world. That has been proven by the Trust Me Bro Factcheckers of the Philippines. It's the case of Filipino Exceptionalism. One can read on Facebook something like, "How many times do I have to tell you that the Philippines isn't Vietnam/Singapore/China/Taiwan/Japan, etc.?" Ever read that? If you haven't then you must be exceptionally stupid. That's why the Philippines should never learn from other countries, especially from Singapore. Why are you always listening to foreigners? Why listen to the advice of a stinky Indian when you can have the advice of the best constitutionalist in the world, Atty. Hilario G. Davide Jr.? You say that nations of the world go to Kishore Mabhubani in Singapore instead. Forget them because the Philippines is so unique that it can do everything on its own. It was proven by the greatest president that the Philippines always had, namely Carl...