Skip to main content

The Philippines will NEVER Get Richer by Blaming Its Richer Asian Neighbors

Gemini AI

Updated: September 27, 2025

It would be nice to talk about the typical blame game in the Philippines. I could remember that, as a child and a teenager, I had this habit of blaming people I disliked for my failing an exam. The reasons are mostly imagined. What I remembered in my later college years was when I met a couple of super irresponsible students. They had this attitude to say something like, "My parents don't care if it'll take me 20 years to finish my bachelor's degree." Some people even say something like, "It's the fault of the rich that we are poor." It was a backfire when I told such people, "Isn't it any wonder why your finances are down? It's because your parents don't even value the money when they don't care if it'll take up to 20 years to finish college!" 

Understanding the blame game and why it feels so good

Psychology Today presents this on why some people will always blame others. These findings can help understand the study of the blame game:

Study 1 findings: Poor emotion regulators “made more false other-ascriptions of self-selected unattractive activities (FOAself) when experiencing negative affect.” This supports the view that individuals who have difficulty coping with negative emotions tend to blame other people for their own bad choices. Good emotion regulators, in contrast, were not affected in this way by negative emotions.

Study 2 findings: Poor emotion regulators “made more false other-ascriptions of self-selected unattractive items (FOAself) when reporting high compared to low subjective anger.” In contrast, good emotion regulators’ “FOAself rates for unattractive items were unaffected by their level of subjective anger.”

Study 3 findings: Negative feelings appeared to “lead poor emotion regulators to project their own poor choices onto someone else.” After recalling a negative (versus positive) event, only poor emotion regulators “made more false other-ascriptions of self-selected unattractive items (FOAself).” Not surprisingly, blaming others appeared to reduce negative feelings.

I would think of the number of times I blamed others for my failures back when I was in elementary to high school. It's stupid that I accused someone of "stealing my brain". How can my brain be stolen literally or even figuratively? I know it can't be done but it sure feels good to accuse someone no matter how absurd it is, right? The study at Psychology Today really speaks volumes and my experiences can testify to that. There was this placebo feeling that I had when I blamed someone for my failures. That's even if the said person was no longer studying in the school. It was pointed out that the person is no longer there so why am I still blaming the person? I cooked up a very foolish excuse that the person "cursed me" to justify my failures. I even got angrier when I was told that I should man up and stop blaming others. Yet, blaming others is the easy way out, isn't it?

Just looking into Facebook in the present, I'm not surprised at people who respond using insults to distract the topic. I remembered being told to just laugh off insults because it proves the insulter is insecure. Not surprisingly, a study shown by CNN Philippines proves that most Filipinos are among the most emotional in the world. That might explain a lot of stupidity on Facebook such as commenting without understanding, posting nonsense on their Facebook walls and pages, and they don't even bother to read without commenting. The Philippine Star even sadly pointed out how reading comprehension is that bad last 2019

A lot of anti-reform Filipinos tend to be overly emotional. The peak of their pyramid of learning goes from mere insults to actually fist-fighting. So much for claiming to be decent individuals. They would talk this and that. How can they prove a point by either insulting the opponent or even punching the opponent? Name-calling and fist-fighting don't prove a point at all! Their comments are built on emotional butthurtrather  than actual intellectualism. I wonder where their sources are, if ever. I even remembered asking something like, "Who in the world is Merkado CTTO?" CTTO doesn't make a good argument compared to having differing reliable sources.

Can anti-reform Filipinos blame richer ASEAN countries for leaving the Philippines behind?

After that lengthy discussion (sorry if you got bored) I felt the need to make some informal intellectual talk. I'm no big-time business scholar myself. However, I felt the need to make that diatribe. Can anti-economic reform Filipinos really blame richer Asian countries for their lack of development? That would be a very interesting question to ask. I did mention earlier that some people blame the rich that they're poor. Now, it's time to really do what I might call hard talking to such loser mentality.

If my memory serves me right, I talked to someone about why Singapore is rich and the Philippines is poor. The person just chose to use the cover your ears gesture to irritate me. What happened next was this person said, "It's the fault of Singapore that we are poor!" Apparently, such people think that you multiply wealth by getting from the rich to give to the poor. They probably still think that all rich people are establishing their wealth through exploitation. They probably also think that maybe, just maybe, the Marcos Wealth made Singapore rich when the late Lee Kuan Yew already disproved that statement. Reading From Third World to First by LKY has it that the late former Singaporean prime minister even refused to loan money to the Marcos regime. If they make that claim, that claim was already shot down as much as the claim that Singapore (or any richer Asian country) 

I did run into people who blamed South Korea for North Korea is poor. I always answered that the so-called Democratic People's Republic of Korea (how ironic) or North Korea has poor economic policies. Maybe, they might come up with a really dumb reason where South Korea has been wasting the natural resources of North Korea. It's almost like two business partners who have been working together. One business partner wastes his money. The other business partner uses the money wisely. The wasteful business partner blames the other for allegedly stealing from him. They might say tht South Korea's bright lights is the reason why North Korea is so dark at night. Maybe, they can also say that all the propaganda of South Korea encouraged better economic activity. When asked for solutions, they can come up with, "North Korea must invade South Korea to clai what is theirs!"

I wouldn't be surprised if there are more countries they will blame aside from Singapore. They might say that years of Communist China's claim over the West Philippine Sea caused the Philippines to be poor. They might say that Communist Vietnam got rich by stealing from the Philippines. They might say that Japan got richer from the Philippines because it stole all the wealth back in the Second World War. Please, Japan got so poor after the Second World War that it had to be rehabilitated by the United States of America (USA). I could really keep writing all the nonsensical blame that maybe, just maybe, I'd end up writing this post with one million words! Let's better stop there, right?

I did remember when some of my classmates told me, "Who told you not to listen and not to study?" I did get defensive, but they had a point. In my adult years, I could fire back at people who blame richer Asian countries for the Philippines' lack of development, saying, "Did the richer Asian countries encourage us to become protectionist? Did the richer Asian countries tell us to create that silly 60-40 equity rule? Did the richer Asian countries tell us to be hostile to FDI, treating it like an invader?" I guess they'll become even more immature than I was as an angry high school student. They might say, "That's just your excuse! You're now defending thieves like (insert names)." I can only expect more red herrings and Ad Hominem arguments from such people.

I wouldn't be surprised if some people would blame Starlink for Globe and PLDT had some downtime. Downtime is very normal, especially if only two telecommunication companies are providing for an entire archipelago. It wouldn't be surprising if some blame FDIs for any deterioration by local Filipino investors who refuse to take social and corporate responsibility. I even remembered someone saying that FDI caused Egypt to become a desert. I'm really laughing at how preposterous the blame game can become.

The reality of the blame game is that nobody gets better by doing it. The blame game is nothing but the easy way out. It's like blaming the muscular person you're overweight. If you want to stop being overweight then start engaging in healthy habits like healthy eating and exercise. The Philippines will never get its economy better by always blaming other countries. It can go ahead and keep blaming China, Singapore, Japan, Taiwan, Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei, South Korea, India, etc., but the economy will never get better. All the blaming will not make the Filipino First Policy effective, plus I did write why it has no place in the Asian century

No, the Philippines will not get richer by the blame game. If blaming made one wealthy, those lazy moochers rallying down the street would've been richer than the rich people they hate. Instead, they are still poor because they are moochers. Rich people who used to be poor never got rich by the blame game. Instead, they worked hard and they worked smart. The Philippines needs to adopt economic policies from the richer countries and learn from them. As Warren Edward Buffett says and I'll paraphrase it, "Surround yourself with better people instead of hating them." In this case, the Philippines should surround itself with better countries and learn from them instead of hating them. 

Popular posts from this blog

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

The Myth of "Invading" Other Countries Through Foreign Investors and Overseas Filipino Workers

BoardGameGeek Years ago, I could remember how "Filipino pride" seems to be required by the DECS. Some songs in the Filipino subject (or called Tagalog) tend to glorify it. One of the songs was called "Ako'y Isang Pinoy" (or "I'm Pinoy") feels ironic since it was played on an imported music player. We had discussions for years about how Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are often the unsung heroes or the new heroes. The mentality kept going on with how people desired to take a particular course not because they wanted to--it's because they wanted to go abroad. Why I wanted to take Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) was not just to impress people but also to go abroad . However, more people shifted away from BSIT either because they were eliminated (common cause) or because it was too hard for them. Some of them flat out admitted that they took BSIT in hopes of going abroad. Some were taking nursing in hopes of again-- going abro...

"Will #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics Lower Philippine Gas Prices?

Inquirer Gasoline prices have increased again, haven't they?  A few days ago, I wrote  why #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba's view of gas prices is questionable . Today, I feel like writing this after several complaints on Facebook. I would like to create a follow-up post. People are complaining too much without understanding the real reason why some countries have lower prices of gasoline. Real talk. We need to talk about economic policies,  and  of course, please do a study on supply-demand analysis  on supply chain management . Let's examine the complaints made by Bulatlat Bulatlat Here's a chart from Bulatlat that compares the increase in prices of gasoline between the Philippines, Thailand, and Malaysia. It's always problematic when people ignore simple economics. It's funny, but Bulatlat mentions this on their website: Note also how expensive our diesel and gasoline products are compared to those of our ASEAN neighbors. The estimated common price today of diesel in...

#SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics' Understanding of How Gasoline Prices Work

International State College of the Philippines Today is Flor Contempacion Day , and rallies are expected. However, whether it's Flor's death anniversary or not, rallies are expected for the wrongest of reasons. I would like to address this photo from the International State College of the Philippines' Facebook page. The demands here are rather clunky and stupid. We have the following demands that would naturally clash with each other, such as: No to the oil deregulation law while demanding lower oil prices. This is simply ignoring the basic fundamentals of economics, namely the law of supply and demand . They say that oil companies are greedy for gain. These rallyists probably don't really understand the difference between revenues and profits . Let's understand the Oil Deregulation Law  The Oil Deregulation Law, or the Republic Act No. 8479 , passed on February 10, 1998, under the late Fidel Valdez Ramos. Here's how the liberalization works: CHAPTER II  LIBERAL...

Learning from the Late Lee Kuan Yew's Proving Protectionist-Driven Economists Wrong About Multinational Corporations

Reading the book From Third World to First is really a must. The late Lee Kuan Yew was faced with the mentality of the development economists of his day. Here's an excerpt from "Chapter 4--Surviving Without a Hinterland" which I'd like to share from Pages 57-58: After several years of disheartening trial and error, we concluded that Singapore's best hope lay with the American multinational corporations (MNCs). When the Taiwanese and Hong Kong entrepreneurs came in the 1960s, they brought low technology such as textile and toy manufacturing, labor-intensive but not large-scale. American MNCs brought higher technology in large-scale operations, creating many jobs. They had weight and confidence. They believed that their government was going to stay in Southeast Asia and their businesses were safe from confiscation or war loss. I gradually crystallized my thoughts and settled on a two-pronged strategy to overcome our disadvantages. The first was to leapfrog the reg...