Skip to main content

Are Pinoy Pride "Economists" Willing to Establish Their Own Businesses to Provide Employment for Filipinos?

Buwan Ng Wika (Month of the Language) may not be Buwan Ng Produkto (Month of the Product). I'm going to continue indirectly targeting this fat whiner I dub as Porky Madugo. A lot of Porky's statements on his Facebook account (which I will not link here to avoid getting personal or giving him any more clout) are just plain ignorant or he knows he's lying. One of the statements that Porky said something like this:

To all the inattentive people who push for FDI (foreign direct investment), why are you relying on foreigners to have a better economy in the Philippines? 

Why don't we just strive to work to improve our economy? Don't keep complaining that the 1987 Constitution is already old and that we need FDI.

All you do is rely on foreigners. You are all rocks! Work and don't dilly dally in your jobs. You are not given mininum wage just to be inattentive. 

Once again, Porky has his stupid argument based on Pinoy Pride Economics. A few days ago, I wrote an article discussing the Filipino vs. foreigner false dichotomy. Since when did liking something foreign equal to rejecting what is Filipino? Please, this Buwan ng Wika, do some research, go to a museum, and find out that Filipino culture evolved through foreign influence. One of Porky's friends, who I'll dub Mukhang Adik (Looks Like an Addict) said something like this: 

We can have Filipino investors who will accumulate capital for Filipino entrepreneurs. It's not about that Foreign D*ck Injection. 

The statement is flat-out ignorant. Since when did  FDI mean or involve Filipinas having sexual relations with foreigners? Getting a sugar daddy foreigner isn't an FDI according to any business dictionary! This definition from the Investopedia should prove them wrong:

Foreign investment involves capital flows from one country to another, granting the foreign investors extensive ownership stakes in domestic companies and assets. Foreign investment denotes that foreigners have an active role in management as a part of their investment or an equity stake large enough to enable the foreign investor to influence business strategy. A modern trend leans toward globalization, where multinational firms have investments in a variety of countries.

Given those fools' suggestions, I wonder if they're actually willing to open their own businesses to provide employment for Filipinos? It's funny that they should be making their statements on Facebook. Even funnier if they're actually using iPhones to do it as if the free market doesn't have a wide variety of choices on mobile phones! 

In their quest for a self-industrialized nation, they need to prove it first with a self-industrialized business with what they want

Of course, I do get crazy answers when I ask, "Are you sure all your equipment are made in the Philippines?" I get the mocking response of, "Oh no! Not that question again! When will you (insert insult) ever realize we have no choice because the evil foreigners and capitalists own the means of production and equipment?" However, by buying these products in the free market, aren't they financing or giving bullets to the foreigners and capitalists they hate so much? It becomes a problem when one can't really find a single proudly Filipino-made equipment in the Philippines (read here).

These fools who oppose FDI on the grounds of Pinoy Pride Economics are also proponents of #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba economics. That is, advocating that salaries must be increased while the final cost must be decreased. It's theoretically possible to eventually do that under economies of scale or when the cost of production gets lower, and salary can be increased to a certain extent. However, given the supply and demand--the cost of production is still overall higher. A high demand for utilities with a low supply means higher costs. A high supply of labor and low demand for labor means lower salaries. It doesn't get a PhD in economics from the hard-to-enter schools in the Philippines to understand those basic concepts. Those concepts have been taught in high school and in college--even before K+12. Now with K+12, what excuse do Filipinos have to lack the grasp of basic economics?!

That's why I wrote about opening #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba stores. Proponents of Pinoy Pride Economics should show for themselves that the model works. The proposal is to open a business where rice is sold at PHP 20.00 per kilo (something that's impossible for now due to supply and demand) and they give a salary of PHP 750.00 per day. They should sell cheaper than the Suggested Retail Price (SRP) and give employees a salary of PHP 750.00 per day. While I wrote that post on #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba stores, I was laughing thinking because they might even use the airconditioner 24-7 when they can't afford it! Why get an airconditioner if you can't afford higher electricity? Apparently, for them, economics is just a game of numbers and not a domino. One wrong economic move can devastate the economy, just like the Great Depression or the Great Leap Forward. However, some of these fools ironically defend Mao Zedong and Karl Marx, both foreigners.

Their business model should also create a business where the workers own the means of production (read here). Never mind that the workers didn't bring their own equipment, didn't buy the equipment, and that in a business model, the business gets the biggest share of liability when things go south. Why are they willing to own the means of production but not share in the consequences if a bad decision is made? Do these people even realize that employees are given their salaries and that profits are what's left after all expenses? Revenues and profits aren't the same thing! Come on, even basic accounting procedures are being ignored by Pinoy Pride Economics proponents!

At this point, they should start opening their business. If their businesses succeed, all calls to open up the economy to more FDI will be canceled and the Philippines can become an isolationist state. If they can turn the Philippines into a model ASEAN nation through #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba stores--I will definitely support them. Until then, they need to prove their point once and for all. They need to publish their study and show it to schools like the National University of Singapore and the University of Economics-Ho Chi Minh City. If not, they're just nothing more than proof of the old proverb, "The empty container makes the most noise!" 

Popular posts from this blog

"Will #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics Lower Philippine Gas Prices?

Inquirer Gasoline prices have increased again, haven't they?  A few days ago, I wrote  why #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba's view of gas prices is questionable . Today, I feel like writing this after several complaints on Facebook. I would like to create a follow-up post. People are complaining too much without understanding the real reason why some countries have lower prices of gasoline. Real talk. We need to talk about economic policies,  and  of course, please do a study on supply-demand analysis  on supply chain management . Let's examine the complaints made by Bulatlat Bulatlat Here's a chart from Bulatlat that compares the increase in prices of gasoline between the Philippines, Thailand, and Malaysia. It's always problematic when people ignore simple economics. It's funny, but Bulatlat mentions this on their website: Note also how expensive our diesel and gasoline products are compared to those of our ASEAN neighbors. The estimated common price today of diesel in...

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

#SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics' Understanding of How Gasoline Prices Work

International State College of the Philippines Today is Flor Contempacion Day , and rallies are expected. However, whether it's Flor's death anniversary or not, rallies are expected for the wrongest of reasons. I would like to address this photo from the International State College of the Philippines' Facebook page. The demands here are rather clunky and stupid. We have the following demands that would naturally clash with each other, such as: No to the oil deregulation law while demanding lower oil prices. This is simply ignoring the basic fundamentals of economics, namely the law of supply and demand . They say that oil companies are greedy for gain. These rallyists probably don't really understand the difference between revenues and profits . Let's understand the Oil Deregulation Law  The Oil Deregulation Law, or the Republic Act No. 8479 , passed on February 10, 1998, under the late Fidel Valdez Ramos. Here's how the liberalization works: CHAPTER II  LIBERAL...

The Myth of "Invading" Other Countries Through Foreign Investors and Overseas Filipino Workers

BoardGameGeek Years ago, I could remember how "Filipino pride" seems to be required by the DECS. Some songs in the Filipino subject (or called Tagalog) tend to glorify it. One of the songs was called "Ako'y Isang Pinoy" (or "I'm Pinoy") feels ironic since it was played on an imported music player. We had discussions for years about how Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are often the unsung heroes or the new heroes. The mentality kept going on with how people desired to take a particular course not because they wanted to--it's because they wanted to go abroad. Why I wanted to take Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) was not just to impress people but also to go abroad . However, more people shifted away from BSIT either because they were eliminated (common cause) or because it was too hard for them. Some of them flat out admitted that they took BSIT in hopes of going abroad. Some were taking nursing in hopes of again-- going abro...

You're Complaining About PHP Devaluation But Do You Know Some Asian Powerhouses Have WEAKER Currency?

  Social media comments can be very toxic, aren't they? Sure, I didn't vote for Philippine President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. However, I can't blame him for anything beyond his control. The late former Philippine president, Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III, had nothing to do with the prices of gasoline being lower. Neither does former Philippine president, Rodrigo R. Duterte, have anything to do with the prices of gasoline. We find that the US Dollar (USD) is definitely getting stronger in proportion to the Philippine peso (PHP). Yes, it could reach up to PHP 60.00 or even higher. I remembered experiencing this during the time of former Philippine president, Joseph M. Ejercito aka Joseph Estrada . I really blamed Estrada back then for it even when it wasn't his fault either.  People can start panicking over the devaluation of the PHP. There are plenty of crude comments on Facebook I wouldn't bother screenshotting them all. Instead, I decided to finally write this economi...