Skip to main content

Why a Wrong Perception of Who is Financially Wealthy is Deadly


I could remember a couple of stuff about a misconception of wealth back when I was in elementary until I was a teenager. I could remember how I envied some of my classmates for their bragging about this and that, their so-called "wealth", and those useless "leaving the uncool kid out" which I felt that I was. It was pretty much a stupid thing to say I'm "poor" because I didn't have the cool video game consoles and the other hand it. Others brag about their cars such as having a Pajero or a Mercedes Benz. Others even brag about their thick wallets while I hardly had a thick wallet because my parents were thrifty. If I overspent--I had to deal with having less money. I had to learn how to save as a teenager up to my college days because of limited allowances from thrifty parents.

I could think of these reasons vs. rebuttals that I've learned in life when I showed my jealousy:
  1. I used to say that somebody was richer because his or her car was luxurious. I wasn't too happy that my late paternal grandmother gave me a Mazda while others had luxury cars. I was later told it's possible to have a BMW while being Broke Without Money or BWM.
  2. I used to say that somebody was richer than I was because they had thick wallets to brag about. However, it's possible to have a thick wallet but to have a very thin bank account. A thick bank account is more important than having cash to flaunt. You can have cash to flaunt but you could be buried in debt, the bank is already ready to mortgage your properties, and other similar financial troubles.
  3. I used to say that somebody was richer because they lived in huge houses. However, it's possible to build a huge house on debt rather than with debt that you can't pay. One can build a huge house but it could be mortgaged by the bank sooner or later.
  4. I used to say that somebody was richer because of their bragging. However, one can always brag to have a million of PHP (or any currency) but not have it. If you've got lots of money then it's best to shut up about it.
  5. I used to say that somebody was richer because so and so had plenty of branded goods. However, it's possible to have the latest iPhone but not to have savings. It's possible to have bought a pair of rubber shoes worth PHP 7,000.00+ but not have that much money to afford it. 
There's the statement of don't get poor trying to look rich. Some rich people end up becoming poor because of their luxurious lifestyles. Some poor people stay poor or even become poorer by trying to look rich--all the while they blame the rich that they're poor. The brand consciousness is more about trying to impress others. However, Chinese businessman Jack Ma never copied others blindly. Yet, it happens that some people (as far as I've observed) tend to copy what others have. Somebody has the latest iPhone? Somebody has a brand-new Mercedes? People are going to this super expensive school? They decide to buy it even if they can't afford it. If they can't afford it--why not borrow money by any means necessary? Such thinking leads to the fatal debt trap.

The mentality that the best is the most expensive is really another debt trap failure. I was reminded of how went to a fancy restaurant and wanted to throw the food at the owner's face. The reason was that I spent a lot of money for a meal and didn't get satisfied. I felt like I should've decided to eat at a more affordable place than that fancy restaurant. Sometimes, an expensive school may just be a rip-off if the quality of education turns out to be a fluke. Yet, people think that an expensive lifestyle is what makes one wealthy when it's not a real indicator of wealth.

The real indicator of financial wealth isn't the lifestyle--it's the amount of money in the bank account and investments. A person who has millions of pesos in the bank is bound to be richer than a person who has a PHP 1 Million car but has a lot of debts. A person who has won big in the stock market and re-invested the earnings in other places (such as other forms of mutual funds and trust funds) may not be driving a Mercedes Benz. The person may be driving a car labeled as"pang-taxi" (just for a taxi) but the person may have billions of pesos in their net worth. It's all about the net worth that a person has that makes one rich.

The wealthier you become, the more you ought to shut up about your net worth. Those big businessmen talking may not even talk about their actual net worth. Some people are rich but not famous. Some people are famous but are in financial nadir behind the scenes. Some people are probably just faking it about their so-called millions of pesos or a nice house. For all you know, they're actually lying on Instagram or Twitter about their so-called wealth. For all you know, the car belonged to their boss, the house belonged to their boss, and they owned nothing from what they claimed. 

Financial wealth should be taught even to rich children. Some rich families eventually collapse from trying to flaunt their money. Flaunt your money to the world and expect to lose it. Some rich families stay rich because their patriarchs not only experienced poverty--they also made their family work like every other employee in their own companies. Financial literacy must also be taught to the poor so they can get out of poverty. Sure, not every poor person will become rich through financial literacy. What's important is to have some wealth (even if one doesn't get wealthy at the end) to be able to meet one's needs and to realize wealth doesn't come so easy either. 

References

"The Psychology Behind Why People Buy Luxury Goods" by Vanessa Page, Reviewed by Ebony Howard (Updated: February 13, 2021)

"6 reasons spending money to impress other people is a pointless waste"

Popular posts from this blog

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

The Myth of "Invading" Other Countries Through Foreign Investors and Overseas Filipino Workers

BoardGameGeek Years ago, I could remember how "Filipino pride" seems to be required by the DECS. Some songs in the Filipino subject (or called Tagalog) tend to glorify it. One of the songs was called "Ako'y Isang Pinoy" (or "I'm Pinoy") feels ironic since it was played on an imported music player. We had discussions for years about how Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are often the unsung heroes or the new heroes. The mentality kept going on with how people desired to take a particular course not because they wanted to--it's because they wanted to go abroad. Why I wanted to take Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) was not just to impress people but also to go abroad . However, more people shifted away from BSIT either because they were eliminated (common cause) or because it was too hard for them. Some of them flat out admitted that they took BSIT in hopes of going abroad. Some were taking nursing in hopes of again-- going abro...

Learning from the Late Lee Kuan Yew's Proving Protectionist-Driven Economists Wrong About Multinational Corporations

Reading the book From Third World to First is really a must. The late Lee Kuan Yew was faced with the mentality of the development economists of his day. Here's an excerpt from "Chapter 4--Surviving Without a Hinterland" which I'd like to share from Pages 57-58: After several years of disheartening trial and error, we concluded that Singapore's best hope lay with the American multinational corporations (MNCs). When the Taiwanese and Hong Kong entrepreneurs came in the 1960s, they brought low technology such as textile and toy manufacturing, labor-intensive but not large-scale. American MNCs brought higher technology in large-scale operations, creating many jobs. They had weight and confidence. They believed that their government was going to stay in Southeast Asia and their businesses were safe from confiscation or war loss. I gradually crystallized my thoughts and settled on a two-pronged strategy to overcome our disadvantages. The first was to leapfrog the reg...

"Will #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics Lower Philippine Gas Prices?

Inquirer Gasoline prices have increased again, haven't they?  A few days ago, I wrote  why #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba's view of gas prices is questionable . Today, I feel like writing this after several complaints on Facebook. I would like to create a follow-up post. People are complaining too much without understanding the real reason why some countries have lower prices of gasoline. Real talk. We need to talk about economic policies,  and  of course, please do a study on supply-demand analysis  on supply chain management . Let's examine the complaints made by Bulatlat Bulatlat Here's a chart from Bulatlat that compares the increase in prices of gasoline between the Philippines, Thailand, and Malaysia. It's always problematic when people ignore simple economics. It's funny, but Bulatlat mentions this on their website: Note also how expensive our diesel and gasoline products are compared to those of our ASEAN neighbors. The estimated common price today of diesel in...

You're Complaining About PHP Devaluation But Do You Know Some Asian Powerhouses Have WEAKER Currency?

  Social media comments can be very toxic, aren't they? Sure, I didn't vote for Philippine President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. However, I can't blame him for anything beyond his control. The late former Philippine president, Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III, had nothing to do with the prices of gasoline being lower. Neither does former Philippine president, Rodrigo R. Duterte, have anything to do with the prices of gasoline. We find that the US Dollar (USD) is definitely getting stronger in proportion to the Philippine peso (PHP). Yes, it could reach up to PHP 60.00 or even higher. I remembered experiencing this during the time of former Philippine president, Joseph M. Ejercito aka Joseph Estrada . I really blamed Estrada back then for it even when it wasn't his fault either.  People can start panicking over the devaluation of the PHP. There are plenty of crude comments on Facebook I wouldn't bother screenshotting them all. Instead, I decided to finally write this economi...