Skip to main content

[OPINION] Adobe's Gone Too Far with Its Ridiculous Monthly Subscription-Only Applications

Back then, I remember borrowing an installer and installing Adobe Photoshop. That was when I had Windows XP and then Windows 7. Now, I'm into Windows 11 after some time. I would like to share my recent experience with Photoshop. Yes, I soon found out that Photoshop can't be used by normal means. I can understand if there's personalization with Windows and Microsoft Office. I'm willing to pay a huge sum for Windows 11 and Microsoft Office. However, I find the subscription for Adobe Photoshop downright ridiculous. I could be willing to pay a huge sum for an online installer. However, if I had to pay every month then what gives? 

Back then, Photoshop was used even by non-professionals. However, Photoshop now has a professional fee every month. It's almost like it's meant to throw a dirty finger at non-professionals like myself. Gone are the days when I learned to use Photoshop during my Associate in Computer Science days. I used Photoshop in its lower forms during the Practicum. Now, the pleasure is gone and it's plain ridiculous. I would certainly be willing to pay PHP 7,000+ for Windows 11 and PHP 5,000+ for the latest Microsoft Office. However, if I had to pay PHP 1,000+ (or higher) per month just to use Photoshop (instead of buying it outright) then that model is downright ridiculous.

Photoshop should've had two options--a package for non-professionals and professional use. It's understandable if there are frequent updates. However, not everyone would be using intense graphics design and the like. I feel Adobe could've created two models. One Photoshop would be a one-time purchase (and the user is free to buy additional features if they want) and the other is for the subscription model. The subscription model is ridiculous for anyone using Photoshop for non-professional use. It could be the student who's making a banner for their practicum booth! I'd be willing to pay for an Adobe program worth 4,000+-5,000+ instead of a ridiculous 10,000+ (or higher) yearly subscription! 

If this goes on, I don't know what can happen. I find this to be more focused on profits than customers. I feel that this could backfire any time soon. As I mentioned, there should be an option for customers. Customers can buy the product outright and buy additional components. Meanwhile, professionals who are willing to pay for features meant for them only can go for the subscription model. Instead, Adobe may have ignored that not everyone who buys graphic design software, belongs to the professional group. 

It would also trigger the law of substitutes. People would soon find alternatives to Photoshop such as Affinity Photo. I bought an Affinity license. With Affinity, I don't need a subscription after buying it outright! Some people are willing to pay a high price for original software. However, not everyone is willing to go for that ridiculous subscription fee. I'd rather buy a product on a one-transaction setting (and buy the extra features later) than be on subscription--unless I'm a professional graphic artist!

Popular posts from this blog

It's More Fun In The Philippines Thanks to the Filipino First Policy

I guess it can be called a day, right? This April 1, 2023 , I'm finally calling it quits with fighting for economic liberalization! Yes, that's right! All the advocacy for economic liberalization is just garbage. Why did I even spend so much time writing this blog only to find out that I've been duped? I hereby renounce everything I wrote here. I finally saw how brilliant the Filipino First Policy is. Man, what have I done? How much damage have I caused in advocating for economic liberalization?  The greatest president we ever had was... High School Philippine History Movement It's time to listen to the economic genius known as the late Carlos P. Garcia. Yes, he has to be one of the greatest presidents that ever existed.  I took this note from the Bohol Provincial Library and found this about CPG's Filipino First Policy ; CPG adopted the “Filipino First” Policy to promote greater Filipino participation in business, and to put the Filipinos in control of the economy...

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

The Myth of "Invading" Other Countries Through Foreign Investors and Overseas Filipino Workers

BoardGameGeek Years ago, I could remember how "Filipino pride" seems to be required by the DECS. Some songs in the Filipino subject (or called Tagalog) tend to glorify it. One of the songs was called "Ako'y Isang Pinoy" (or "I'm Pinoy") feels ironic since it was played on an imported music player. We had discussions for years about how Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are often the unsung heroes or the new heroes. The mentality kept going on with how people desired to take a particular course not because they wanted to--it's because they wanted to go abroad. Why I wanted to take Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) was not just to impress people but also to go abroad . However, more people shifted away from BSIT either because they were eliminated (common cause) or because it was too hard for them. Some of them flat out admitted that they took BSIT in hopes of going abroad. Some were taking nursing in hopes of again-- going abro...

Learning from the Late Lee Kuan Yew's Proving Protectionist-Driven Economists Wrong About Multinational Corporations

Reading the book From Third World to First is really a must. The late Lee Kuan Yew was faced with the mentality of the development economists of his day. Here's an excerpt from "Chapter 4--Surviving Without a Hinterland" which I'd like to share from Pages 57-58: After several years of disheartening trial and error, we concluded that Singapore's best hope lay with the American multinational corporations (MNCs). When the Taiwanese and Hong Kong entrepreneurs came in the 1960s, they brought low technology such as textile and toy manufacturing, labor-intensive but not large-scale. American MNCs brought higher technology in large-scale operations, creating many jobs. They had weight and confidence. They believed that their government was going to stay in Southeast Asia and their businesses were safe from confiscation or war loss. I gradually crystallized my thoughts and settled on a two-pronged strategy to overcome our disadvantages. The first was to leapfrog the reg...

Yes, the Philippines Can Self-Industrialize Because Filipinos Are the Most Powerful Race in the World (NO JOKE)

Yes, you got that right! This meme is a fact that Filipinos are the most powerful race in the world. That has been proven by the Trust Me Bro Factcheckers of the Philippines. It's the case of Filipino Exceptionalism. One can read on Facebook something like, "How many times do I have to tell you that the Philippines isn't Vietnam/Singapore/China/Taiwan/Japan, etc.?" Ever read that? If you haven't then you must be exceptionally stupid. That's why the Philippines should never learn from other countries, especially from Singapore. Why are you always listening to foreigners? Why listen to the advice of a stinky Indian when you can have the advice of the best constitutionalist in the world, Atty. Hilario G. Davide Jr.? You say that nations of the world go to Kishore Mabhubani in Singapore instead. Forget them because the Philippines is so unique that it can do everything on its own. It was proven by the greatest president that the Philippines always had, namely Carl...