Skip to main content

It's a Common, Broken New Year's Resolution Among Filipinos to Do Better with Their Finances and Economic Knowledge

Happy New Year, right? There's this statement in Cebuano that says, "Sa Disyembre nag lipay-lipay. Sa Enero, naglikay-likay." For non-Cebuano speakers, it means, "Enjoying all December. Fleeing in January." It's because of the bad habits that are common during the Christmas season. I wrote an entry talking about when a Merry Christmas leads to an Unhappy New Year. After Christmas vacation, it can be common to talk about New Year's Resolutions. Sadly, there are resolutions meant to be broken or resolutions on paper only. Several people finish high school, go to college, get a job, but never gain the necessary knowledge of economics and finances. Instead, they continue to live the same habits year after year. Even worse, the same foolish behavioral patterns get passed down from parent to child to grandchild.

Still stuck with financial habits that put one in a financial dodo

The New Year starts and it can get funny. I tend to hate December because of the foolish behavior people engage in. It can even get worse during New Year's Eve. Back in 2022, I wrote an article where I discussed complaining about the inflation of basic goods while still buying firecrackers. The amount of firecracker injuries year after year points to one thing--broken New Year's Resolutions. I remember that ad back on TV in the 1990s. It was a hand with missing fingers (but it was obviously edited) where a student says, "My New Year's Resolution is that I will not play with firecrackers anymore." It was meant to be a warning. However, some people still foolishly practice it--in the name of tradition. In logic, that's the Appeal to Tradition fallacy. How many of these firecracker injury victims bothered to even buy health insurance? Some people may even think of insurance as a burden while they enjoy spending on useless stuff. 

Certain things can be traced back to December. January is the beginning of a new cycle. Some people just refuse to learn to budget their money wisely. Year after year, some people still do the same foolish habits. It's because habits learned in January can get carried over in December. Some people lavishly celebrate during the Noche Buena (read here) because it's a habit all year round to do something similar. For example, one could think about how people tend to get payday euphoria, resulting in dumb ways that drain the paycheck (read here). Some people still expect instant riches. Some people may have lost large amounts of money gambling but they still gamble anyway, hoping to get rich quick fast. Some people may continually invest in get-rich-quick activities, never mind that previous schemes have failed miserably. However, they still keep doing it anyway! 

It's common to see Five-Six Lenders roaming during January. They can abound during December. It's because people tend to borrow more than they can pay. Some people might even foolishly think that Indian restaurant owners will loan them money (read here). It may be a common sight that I couldn't eat in an Indian restaurant because Five-Six Lenders have occupied the parking lot to eat lunch. It's not easy for the Five-Six Lenders to go around, finding the people who owe them money. I could imagine people are probably hiding from their creditors, both legal and illegal. Right now, I can imagine the clock ticks when all types of creditors will roam around, looking for delinquent debtors. It's a delinquent debt that could've been avoided if they learned to manage money wisely. 

But some never try to change their habits. Instead, they're still stuck with it. They still practice the same old foolishness of spending more than you can handle. They still prioritize pleasure over work. That may explain a typical workplace. In fact, the other AIDS epidemic isn't the STD but the problem of As If Doing Something (read here). Someone can put up a front that they're busy but they're actually doing something irrelevant to work. The worst part is they wonder why their financial standing never improves. 

Still stuck with bad economic knowledge

Above is the common demand of some idiots, young and old, to have #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba. In English, it means, "Increase salaries, lower the prices of goods." Some people even go as far as to believe that profits are merely unpaid wages. Like what? Do they even realize that companies need profits to survive? Of course, people must be prioritized over profits like family must be prioritized over money. Just because something is of lower priority doesn't mean it can be neglected. Sure, employers should prioritize the welfare of the people first. However, how can one even prioritize the welfare of people if there are no profits? How can employers increase salaries without increasing the prices of goods and services?

Business & Plans

Let's think about simple accounting. Salaries will always be part of the cost of production. Salaries would fall under the Selling, General, and Administrative expenses. If we look at the accounting cycle, the profit is barely half of the sales. Salaries are paid and they're deducted from the sales. In short, the salary, not the profit, belongs to the workers. Of course, prioritizing profit over people will eventually destroy profits. A company whose workers don't perform well will eventually suffer long-term losses. Companies that want short-term gains will never get bigger long-term gains. If there was no profit then how can the company give employees their benefits and increase their salaries? Are these idiots suggesting that the company should "just borrow money", never mind that the money has to be returned with interest?!

Even worse, it's already 2024 last year and it's 2025 this year. However, some people are still living in the mentality that FDIs are invaders (read here). That's probably why some people got happy when Jollibee opened in UK but got mad when FDIs had plans to invest in the Philippines. They probably thought Jollibee's opening in the UK was an act of invasion. They still get stuck with the lousy mindset brought by the Filipino First Policy. They still think that until most businesses are Filipino-owned, the nation will never see progress. Even worse, I can mention the late Lee Kuan Yew and they can mention the late Flor Contemplacion (read here), or that the former was a dictator. Again, Flor was already proven guilty, and FDIs, when properly regulated with reasonable restrictions (which equity restrictions aren't part of them), can help the Philippines!

The 1987 Constitution of the Philippines badly needs upgrades too. Some people couldn't even get the analogy of the Constitution and the OS of a computer. The OS of a computer can also help determine the quality of work. A PC will need to be replaced sooner or later. Why are some people still acting like the 1987 Constitution of the Philippines as an infallible religious text when it isn't? Article XVII states that it's open for amendments. Meaning, it's not even illegal to have a charter change! However, some people are too stuck in the past. It's all about being too sentimental, never mind that the 1987 Constitution of the Philippines, has weaknesses that need to be resolved ASAP. The consequences of not amending it have been disastrous. The late Benigno Simeon "Noynoy" C. Aquino III may have improved economics but it's not enough. One shouldn't rely too much on past successes, or risk a string of failures in the present. They need to think of what happened to Nokia. Nokia was just too stubborn and look what happened. Adobe relied on its past successes then created that highly expensive subscription model--something that created a controversy. The same can happen if the people rely too much on Noynoy's past success. The Philippines couldn't keep saying, "Well Noynoy succeeded last 2010-2016." Please, past successes don't make anyone or any institution invincible!

Conclusion

This would be the result of decades of Filipino First Policy mindset in schools. People pass down the same obsolete knowledge. LKY already called the protectionist policies of his day obsolete. Kishore Mahhubani's statements would put Hilario G. Davide Jr. to shame. What weneed is a radical reform in the system. If there's a radical reform in the system--we may expect these broken resolutions to be much less common! 

Popular posts from this blog

The Good Old Days when Gasoline was Cheaper Under the Late Noynoy Aquino

Millennials' Voice I would like to clarify first and foremost that this post isn't an attempt to say that the late Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III's legacy was all bad. Some good things happened. However, let me be clear that it's stupid to say, " We don't need economic cha-cha because of the late Noynoy. " However, let me clear that I decided to write this because of a Facebook post called Millennials' Voice , which wrote this: Did you know that during President Noynoy Aquino's time, the price of oil in the world market was high, between $100 and $110 per barrel. But even with those high prices, gasoline and diesel at local pumps in the country were still relatively affordable.  Under President Duterte, world oil prices went up and down, from a low of $41 to a high of $101 per barrel. The big jump to $101 in 2022 happened because of the war between Russia and Ukraine.   Now, under the current president, world oil prices have gone up again to around $...

The Myth of "Invading" Other Countries Through Foreign Investors and Overseas Filipino Workers

BoardGameGeek Years ago, I could remember how "Filipino pride" seems to be required by the DECS. Some songs in the Filipino subject (or called Tagalog) tend to glorify it. One of the songs was called "Ako'y Isang Pinoy" (or "I'm Pinoy") feels ironic since it was played on an imported music player. We had discussions for years about how Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) are often the unsung heroes or the new heroes. The mentality kept going on with how people desired to take a particular course not because they wanted to--it's because they wanted to go abroad. Why I wanted to take Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) was not just to impress people but also to go abroad . However, more people shifted away from BSIT either because they were eliminated (common cause) or because it was too hard for them. Some of them flat out admitted that they took BSIT in hopes of going abroad. Some were taking nursing in hopes of again-- going abro...

Learning from the Late Lee Kuan Yew's Proving Protectionist-Driven Economists Wrong About Multinational Corporations

Reading the book From Third World to First is really a must. The late Lee Kuan Yew was faced with the mentality of the development economists of his day. Here's an excerpt from "Chapter 4--Surviving Without a Hinterland" which I'd like to share from Pages 57-58: After several years of disheartening trial and error, we concluded that Singapore's best hope lay with the American multinational corporations (MNCs). When the Taiwanese and Hong Kong entrepreneurs came in the 1960s, they brought low technology such as textile and toy manufacturing, labor-intensive but not large-scale. American MNCs brought higher technology in large-scale operations, creating many jobs. They had weight and confidence. They believed that their government was going to stay in Southeast Asia and their businesses were safe from confiscation or war loss. I gradually crystallized my thoughts and settled on a two-pronged strategy to overcome our disadvantages. The first was to leapfrog the reg...

"Will #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba Economics Lower Philippine Gas Prices?

Inquirer Gasoline prices have increased again, haven't they?  A few days ago, I wrote  why #SahodItaasPresyoIbaba's view of gas prices is questionable . Today, I feel like writing this after several complaints on Facebook. I would like to create a follow-up post. People are complaining too much without understanding the real reason why some countries have lower prices of gasoline. Real talk. We need to talk about economic policies,  and  of course, please do a study on supply-demand analysis  on supply chain management . Let's examine the complaints made by Bulatlat Bulatlat Here's a chart from Bulatlat that compares the increase in prices of gasoline between the Philippines, Thailand, and Malaysia. It's always problematic when people ignore simple economics. It's funny, but Bulatlat mentions this on their website: Note also how expensive our diesel and gasoline products are compared to those of our ASEAN neighbors. The estimated common price today of diesel in...

You're Complaining About PHP Devaluation But Do You Know Some Asian Powerhouses Have WEAKER Currency?

  Social media comments can be very toxic, aren't they? Sure, I didn't vote for Philippine President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. However, I can't blame him for anything beyond his control. The late former Philippine president, Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III, had nothing to do with the prices of gasoline being lower. Neither does former Philippine president, Rodrigo R. Duterte, have anything to do with the prices of gasoline. We find that the US Dollar (USD) is definitely getting stronger in proportion to the Philippine peso (PHP). Yes, it could reach up to PHP 60.00 or even higher. I remembered experiencing this during the time of former Philippine president, Joseph M. Ejercito aka Joseph Estrada . I really blamed Estrada back then for it even when it wasn't his fault either.  People can start panicking over the devaluation of the PHP. There are plenty of crude comments on Facebook I wouldn't bother screenshotting them all. Instead, I decided to finally write this economi...